Inspired Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

October 12, 2011 § 1 Comment

This weekend I visited Washington DC for the day and of course that means I walked around Georgetown which also means that I stopped at Georgetown Cupcake for a treat.  This particular shop is famous because of TLC’s show DC Cupcake. After waiting in the short line I promptly decided on current seasonal choice: Pumpkin Spice!  Pumpkin spice anything is my favorite, and the cupcake was sooooo good!  I tell you this story to say that as soon as I got home I started looking for a recipe to make my own!

I figured I could make a whole batch for close to the price of one ($2.75) at Georgetown Cupcake . Making your own is cheaper, lots of fun, and you end up with a bunch to share with friends! I found a recipe, and it turned out wonderful. They’re super easy to make and most of the things you need are probably already living in your kitchen.

Here’s the recipe:

3/4 cup soft butter
2 1/2 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 can pumpkin (15 oz)
2 1/3 cups flour
1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1 cup buttermilk

 

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs and beat well. Add pumpkin. Combine the flour, pie spice, baking powder, cinnamon, salt, baking soda and ginger; add to the creamed mixture alternating with buttermilk, beat well.

Fill cupcake papers three-fourths full. Bake at 350° for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool before frosting.

Frosting:
1 package soft cream cheese (8 oz)
1/2 cup soft butter
4 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 teaspoons cinnamon

For frosting, in a large bowl, beat cream cheese and butter until fluffy. Add the powdered sugar, vanilla and cinnamon; beat until smooth. Frost cupcakes. Add sprinkles or whatever decoration you like!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Inspired Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

  • cyndi gusler says:

    gorgeous blog and those cupcakes look good enough to paint!

    maybe i’ll bake some this weekend–hmmm, after all the art making and art openings!

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspired Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes at making more from less.

meta